Author Topic: AR15 short stroking  (Read 1485 times)

Offline manik

• Rimfire Rabbit
    • View Profile
AR15 short stroking
« on: December 27, 2017, 09:42:59 PM »
Hey yíall!! Pretty much an AR Newbie here. Iíve got a PSA complete lower thatís mated to a complete Davidson Defense upper. Standard 16Ē 5.56 NATO M4 contour 1/9 twist using a brand new magpul 30 rnd pmag. It appears to be short cycling from what I can find on the interweb. Running the cheap Tula steel case 55 gr, it will eject, but not load the next round, I believe itís American Eagle 55 gr brass case, it will run, occasionally short stroking and will not hold the bolt open after the last round. I do not know the angle of the ejection, Iím guessing I need to be using at least a 62 grain green tips or heavier. Could someone enlighten me please?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Online Gilgondorin

• Concealed Carry Pro
  • .: Gear of War :.
    • View Profile
Re: AR15 short stroking
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 10:40:18 PM »
If this is a home-built AR from various manufacturer parts and pieces, you may be in for a bit of a challenge finding what the problem would be, because any number of the parts/pieces could be out of spec.

Off the top of my head ó I don't have much experience with AR's ó I'd look into checking the buffer weight. A friend of mine's brother was having some of the same problems you're describing while trying to adjust the buffer weight on his AR. You might need something lighter (I'd imagine) than what's currently equipped. The failure to B.H.O. may also be a spec issue, or a mag problem; here too you'll need to experiment with disk calipers and/or different magazines.

If you aren't very experienced with guns the quickest way to fix it might be to just take it to a gun smith for troubleshooting purposes.

Offline mike609

• Expert Magazine Loader
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2017, 05:26:40 AM »